happy mother’s day

October 18, 2007 at 9:23 pm | Posted in Family, Fun, parenting | 1 Comment

gift.jpgWe don’t make a big deal about things like Mother’s Day at my house.  We might pick up fast food on the way home from church or order pizza so that I don’t have to cook lunch, but no big celebration.  Emily always makes me a homemade card and she sees to it that all of the kids make me a picture, card, or something. 

Last year when she was helping the little ones color a picture for me, she must have made a big deal about telling the kids to say “Happy Mother’s Day!” to me when they presented their artwork.  Ever since then, whenever the my 3 little ones make an art project or color a picture for me, they always say “Happy Mother’s Day!” when they hand it to me.  It’s kind of cute, especially in October.  I thought they would quit after awhile, but they are still doing it.

Somewhere along the line, “Happy Mother’s Day!” started to mean more to Jessica (age 4).  Not long ago she started to tell me “Happy Mother’s Day” at random times and not only when she was presenting me with something. 

This week must have been an especially good week in our house because Jessica has told me “Happy Mother’s Day!” at least once a day.  This morning, we were waiting for her speech therapy teacher, just standing in a hallway, when she looked up at me and said “Happy Mother’s Day!” 

Maybe it’s because she is happy.  Maybe it’s because I am in a good mood.  I’m not sure why she decides to say it, but I love it when she does. 

So to all you mom’s out there…HAPPY MOTHER’S DAY!!!!

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I think she is just happy that you are her mom.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

