redeeming love

August 20, 2007 at 4:05 pm | Posted in Bible, Blessings, Christianity, forgiveness, Grace, Love | Leave a comment

redeeminglove.jpgI recently read Redeeming Love by Francine Rivers for our book club at church.  It was a good read, but I didn’t enjoy it as much as the other book we read, Thorn in My Heart (see blog below). 

I did take time to read the book of Hosea for insight before reading Redeeming Love.  Hosea is not one of those books you study often, so it was definitely good to take a deeper look.  I was struck by the passion the Lord displays for His people in Hosea 11:1-11.  You can’t read it without sensing the anguish of a loving parent as they watch their wayward child. 

I led them with cords of human kindness, with ties of love; I lifted the yoke from their neck and bent down to feed them.     Hosea 11:4

God’s love for us is AMAZING and beyond comprehension.  Yet, we stray.  Why?  How can we run from such love?

I am so thankful that God is such a compassionate and forgiving God!

I will not carry out my fierce anger, nor will I turn and devastate Ephraim.  For I am God, and not man–the Holy One among you.  I will not come in wrath.      Hosea 11:9

Just like the story of the lost sheep (see Luke 15:1-7) and the lost coin (see Luke 15:8-10), God is actively seeking His lost children.  And as in the prodigal son (see Luke 15:11-32), God has open arms for us when we come to Him.

The LORD is compassionate and gracious, slow to anger, abounding in love.    Psalm 103:8

Our God is an awsome God!

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

