Unanswered Questions

August 1, 2007 at 9:05 am | Posted in Anemia, Health, Questions | Leave a comment

meltingice.jpgI have been obsessed with ice the last few months.  I will drink ice water all day long.  If I don’t get my ice, I will just crave it.  I’ve tried to stop, but I can’t.

A few weeks ago I had some routine blood work done.  I wanted to know my cholesterol count(which isn’t good but that’s another story).  When the blood work came back, I was borderline anemic…which explains the recent ice obsession.

They say that people with anemia often crave unusual substances like dirt, chalk, or ice.  Now I have NEVER craved dirt or chalk.  I can’t figure out why those 3 substances would be listed together.  I can see that dirt and chalk might have some common ingredient maybe but…ice?

Furthermore, what does being low in iron have to do with ice?  I can’t seem to see the connection.

Now that I am taking iron supplements, will my cravings just cease or is it habit now?

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

