reading

July 12, 2007 at 8:27 am | Posted in Books, Fun, Reading | 2 Comments

thorninmyheart.jpgI LOVE TO READ!  I would rather read than watch TV.  I would rather read than play a game (even though I love games).  And I would definitely rather read than do housework.

The problem is…when I read, I tend to read a LOT!  For example, I just finished reading Liz Curtis Higgs Thorn in My Heart.  I was reading it for the women’s summer book club at our church.  I read this book and the entire series (4 books total) in about 5 days.  I didn’t completely neglect my house and children.  The chapters are very short so I would read one chapter then do some housework and play with kids. Then I would read another chapter and so on and so on.  I also read while my kids napped and late into the night while everyone else slept.

 I have no willpower when it comes to a good book.  Because of this, I don’t let myself start books very often.  The summer book club is always a good excuse for me to allow myself to read. 

As much as I love reading this book, I loved studying the Biblical account more.  We did a Bible study on the story of Jacob before our book club read the book.  I was asked to lead the study and I am so glad I did.   I really got so much out of studying the Bible passages in-depth.  (see Bless Me? blog below ) I almost felt selfish leading it because I was sure I got so much more out of preparing the study than the participants did. 

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I have the same problem with reading and have not started a book in a while (techinicall didn’t read the Book Club book either since I listened to it on CD).

    You did a great job leading the book club. I got a lot out of it. During that first meeting I could just feel the Holy Spirit right in the room with us.

  2. Thanks Darcy. I really enjoyed doing that Bible study.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

