lost in translation

July 5, 2007 at 10:39 am | Posted in Family, Fun, parenting | 1 Comment

banggun.jpgEmily, my 16 year old, takes a LONG time in the shower.  She claims she is only in there 10 minutes or less but it’s always a long time.  Take this morning, for example.  She went upstairs to get in the shower.  I started oatmeal for myself and Chloe.  I cooked the oatmeal, let it cool, and ate it leisurely with my 2 year old.  I emptied the dishwasher and cleaned all the breaksfast dishes.  I sat down to talk with my husband when I realized…Emily was still in the shower.

 So I asked Chloe to go knock on the bathroom door.  Chloe loves to run errands like this so I try to find little things she can do.  She ran upstairs, barely knocked on the door, and said “Time to get out.”  Of course, there was no way Emily could hear this.  Plan B…I asked Chloe (2), Jessica (4), and Daniel (5) to go bang on the bathroom door so Emily would know it was time to get out…her shower was still going.  They ran upstairs with gusto and preceded to stand in front of the bathroom door and say, “bang, bang, bang, bang.”  I’m not quite sure what they were thinking but it surely wasn’t what I was thinking when I asked them to bang on the door.  It WAS good for a laugh though.

 The little ones continued to “bang” at the door for awhile.  Emily did eventually emerge from the bathroom.  I have a sweet memory.  Not a bad way to start the day.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. That was cute.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

