holding hands

March 27, 2007 at 9:27 am | Posted in Bible, Christianity, Fear, God's Provision | 10 Comments

“For I am the LORD, Your God,
who takes hold of your right hand
and says to you, Do not fear;
I will help you.”
– Isaiah 41:13

This is my favorite Bible verse; one I cling to almost daily.

A great picture comes to mind when I think of God taking my hand.  The picture is not always the same, sometimes he is comforting me, sometimes guiding me, and other times giving me strength…but it is always just what I need. 

Picture a baby reaching for and clasping your hand.  The baby works hard to focus on the hand, and after repeated tries, she finally gets hold of your finger.  What a special bond of trust and love is being built there.  It takes time and patience, but you rejoice when they finally have your finger. 

I think of all that I am learning and need to learn.  I am thankful for a heavenly Father who is there to provide me the security I need to grow.  I am thankful for His patience when I am trying to reach out for Him.  I am thankful for a God who wants me to know and discover Him.

Picture a parent holding a toddler’s hand.  You hold their hands as they learn to take those first steps so they don’t fall.  You hold their hands when they get their shots, walk beside you in a store, or cross a street.  You don’t want them hurt or lost.  You want to protect them as they try new things.

I am thankful for a God who is strong enough to keep me safe and cares about what happens to me.  He holds my hand when I am hurt or scared.  He is just there beside me.

Picture a parent taking a child’s hand.  Sometimes they do not want to go where you are going, so you make them hold your hand and stay with you.  They may not see the big picture, and you need them to just come and trust you. 

I am thankful for a God who takes my hand and guides me in the right direction; who will take my hand out of discipline because He wants me to go the way He is going.  I am thankful for a God who sees the big picture that I cannot see.

Picture a teen holding hands with their first love.  The excitement and thrill of just holding hands.  Your heart is racing, and you feel acceptance.  Everything it right because you are holding hands and experiencing the closeness for the first time.

I am thankful for God’s true love and acceptance and I hope I will always return to my first love…Jesus.

Picture an older married couple holding hands.  There is real love and acceptance there.  Not just a feeling, but a lifetime of commitment.  They are inseparable and together they have been through many ups and downs.  The years have developed that comfortable hand hold. 

I am thankful for a God who gives unconditional love and who accepts me for who I am.  I am thankful for a God who will stay with me through the good times and bad.  A God who promises to never leave me nor forsake me.

The Lord takes my hand.  He is there when I need Him.  He is there to say “I will help you.”  With His help, there is nothing I cannot do.

10 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I loved this 🙂
    Esp the pictures, I’m now using them towards my mock art exam

    based on hand expressions 🙂

    thankyou
    xxx

  2. Glad you liked it.

  3. Lovely, wonderful page and inspiring pictures!
    Keep up the great work and faith 😀
    xo

  4. Thankyou very much for posting your thoughts and beliefs about your relationship with God. I hope you don’t mind but I have used your thoughts as an inspiritation to my own relationship with God. Especially how well you articulated this with the examples.

    Have a good day
    Natalie

  5. Natalie,

    No problem. Feel free to use them. I post things often just to clarify my thoughts. If someone is able to get something out of them, I am happy that they are useful to someone else.

    Kristie

  6. that was very nice, God Bless u 🙂

  7. I happened to chance upon this passage while searching for “holding hands” picture. I really like this and thank you for pointing out and reminding me of GOD’s love for us all… many a times, we get so caught up with our own busy lives that we forget about HIS everlasting love…

    Thanks and GOD Bless!

  8. Hi!
    Is it okay if I use the tiny baby hand holding the finger picture to draw a sketch from? I am an artist and I am looking for hand photo’s to use as a guide as to what Our Father’s hand might look like as he reaches down to help us…I thought this was a wonderful representation of that, along with your devotional thoughts. Very nicely written and deep thinking! I love it!
    Thanks!
    Donna G.

  9. Hi
    I camne across this picture in my search to “holding hands”.This is such a touching photo
    & it reminds me of love and inocence!!!!

  10. This is a beautiful blog. I also found it while serching for “holding hands with a child”. God speaks to me in pictures and last week I visualized one similar to your third one with the young child walking. It was just before I went in for a heart procedure and I knew God was asking me to trust him during such difficult time. My heart is now fixed and I am preparing to blog some of my memories. Your writings not only gave me a great picture, but also scripture and comments that filled out exactly what I was going through. Thanks for sharing. May God bless you richly.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

